The Cariad: photographs aboard another historical top sail ketch, built in 1896

21 04 2010

At berth across the Vega on display at Boat Asia 2010 was another historical top sail ketch, the Cariad, a purpose built racing yacht. The Cariad, named after the Welsh word for “Sweetheart” was built by Summers & Payne in Southampton for a Lord Dunraven in 1896 and is currently in magnificent condition, having undergone a full restoration in Korat, Thailand. It was certainly a treat to be able to step onto her expansive wooden deck and into the gleaming wood panelled accommodation below decks.

The Cariad in 1896 (source: http://www.cariad1896.com/).

Designed by A. E. Payne, the Cariad’s hull is constructed of teak wood laid over a steel framework. The Cariad has an length overall of 118 feet, a beam of 81 feet and a draught of 12 feet 6 inches. She is currently powered by a 240 HP diesel engine. More information is available at the Cariad’s website.

The Cariad is a 114 year old top sail ketch built in Southampton.

Stern of the Cariad.

Polished wood name plate.

Ship's bell.

The helm.

The fore deck.

Rigging on deck.

The main deck.

Ropes on deck.

Compass repeater on the main deck.

The newly restored ketch is on sale at a princely sum of USD 3.5M.

Accommodation below decks.

The lounge below decks.

The heads.

A stateroom.

Skylights.

Hydrostatic information on the Cariad.

Actions

Information

20 responses

21 04 2010
sartenada

Really great sailing ship. I love those old historical ships. When looking Your photos from Cariad, I have to say that it is magnifiant. In my country we have plenty of old steam ships which are making cruises on our lakes. But steam ships and sailing ships, they differ so much from each others. Last summer we had here Tall ship Race and then I saw how beautiful sailing ships can be.

You made great post from Cariad. Thank You.

21 04 2010
The wondering wanderer

Sartenada, thanks for you comments. Yes, she is isn’t she! I love the old sailing ships – I have always been fascinated with them since seeing the silhouettes of the clipper on the Old Spice logo in my childhood. I guess your country has a great shipping tradition – would love to visit it! I am in Singapore where we do have a quite a lot of shipping passing by – more for commercial purposes than for leisure – so it nice once in a while to have the opportunity to visit a historical ship. There were actually two on display, the other was the Vega, which was built as an opened deck stone carrying ketch in 1893 which I mentioned in a previous post. It’s wonderful that you have a chance to witness the tall ship race – tall ships are my favourite and there is nothing like seeing a tall ship in full sail – truly magnificent! There was a visit by the Russian merchant navy training tall ship the Pallada recently to Singapore as well in which I have a few photographs posted … you may want to visit the post. I visited your blog – and you have very beautiful and stunning photographs on your blog!

4 11 2010
Ted Atkin

It is lovely to see the Cariad looking so beautiful. I worked on this boat for a few months in 1953. I joined the boat in Sydney, Australia and we sailed to New Guinea, Timor, Mauritius and others. I left the boat in Capetown, South Africa. The skipper at the time was Alan Ball. The voyage was going to be longer but Mr Fitton’s (the owner) partner died so it was cut short. I have about half a dozen photos from/of the boat taken at this time which I would be happy to scan and circulate if anyone is interested.
Ted.

4 11 2010
The wondering wanderer

Ted, thanks for sharing that! Wonderful to hear from one who has actually worked on the Cariad all those years back – wow! Thanks for the offer to scan photos from your voyage with the Cariad – it would be good if you could scan a few which I can add to this post to add a bit of history to it, which you can email to me. Thank you. :D

2 03 2012
Ian Knipe

That would be great ted

5 05 2014
Simon Bath

Hi Ted, I am guessing you might have meant Alan Bath rather than Alan “Ball” my father was the skipper on Carriad for that voyage as far as I am aware, unfortunately dad has now passed but if you do have any more info about the voyage I would to hear from you.

5 05 2011
jominder sohivideo

It is good to see this beauty restored. My video productions team captured the moments from the time it was bought by Mr. Stuart Williamson in Thailand and than via Singapore, Langkawi (Malaysia) and finally to Satun, Thailand. Met a wonderful team of experts during our work and Mr. Des Kearns was an excellent Captain of this project. Fond memories will remain of The Cariad and the happy hours in Satun town after work ( a small fishing village ) . A special word of thanks to Mr.Williamson for inviting our team to be part of this history. Plenty of videos and photographs of the transformation. Who ever buys it , will buy a rich history which is priceless. USD 3.5 million for this beauty full of history and labour of love is below market, if l had the money, l won’t be writing here :-)

25 11 2011
Jeff Mills

This lovely ship was restored in Satun, Thailand not Korat. There is not even a small river in Korat just rice fields. I worked on the restoration and supplied the teak decking. I also designed supervised the construction of the main mast which is a composition of Douglas Fir and Sitka Spruce. To be part of that project was one of the real highlights of my life. She is one very beautiful vessel and it was an honor to be part of the project. She was restored with love and I hope those who own her treat her well. If I had money I would have her, $3.5 is a steal.

31 01 2012
Jean

My brother was part of a syndicate of young men who bought Cariad as a hull in 1969 and who sailed her in the first Cape to Rio race. The restoration and repair of Cariad was a most exciting experience for those young men and their friends and family. Thank you Cariad, thank you!

8 04 2013
Trevor Richards

Jean – and I was the young man (15 at the time) who went overboard off Cape Point while en route to Cape Town for the race! My brother, Alan, was also aboard
The owner back in the 40’s A.W. Flitton, was my great uncle

20 02 2012
Cpt.Ian Knipe

The last time i saw her was in the 60s i think when she was in Simonstown and my sister and i were invited on board for a meal one evening.She is looking great fair winds!

2 03 2012
Ian Knipe

Who remembers this old beauty CARIAD

4 03 2012
Edward (Ted) Atkin Happy sailing. Ted ATkin

I was a crew member on the Cariad on the voyage from Sydney to Capetown via New Guinea, East Timor, Mauritius in 1954.
I have photographs of the Cariad and some of the 7 crew plus the owner and the cook who was a Zulu.
Are you interested in seeing photographs from that time?

5 03 2012
Ian Knipe

Ted I would love to see the photos regards Ian Knipe

8 04 2013
Trevor Richards

Ted – Alan Flitton was my great uncle and my family owned the boat briefly after he died. My brother Alan sailed from Cape Town to Rio in the race in the early 70’s while I did the leg from Durban to Cape Town and was stupid enough to fall overboard off Cape Point. (Goes without saying that they were able to find me!).Would love to see what photos you have

16 11 2012
Lynne Wade

Hi. My uncle, Barry Forster sailed round the world on Cariad from 1948 to 1950. . he left from and returned to Cape Town. They nearly sank off the Cape coast on their return. The captain was Ted Orzekovsky (???), a gorgeous Pole, (according to my mum!), was the captain at the beginning of the trip..We would to see some more photo’s.
Lynne

6 07 2013
Christine Wolford

I am wanting to know anyone who was on board Cariad 1 1948 SouthamptonUK FRANK MORGAN ONE OF THE YOUNG CREW ARRIVED IN BRISBANE RIVER QLD AUSTRALIA APRIL 1950

6 07 2013
matkin2012

My husband Ted Atkin signed up as a crew member in Sydney in 1953/54 and sailed to South Africa. The Skipper was Alan Ball and the owner who was on board was a Mr Fitton. Ted worked in South Africa and then Zimbabe and returned to Australia in 1956. He is well at 88 years and enjoys reading about The Cariad. Margaret Atkin

17 10 2013
Joe

Hi Margaret , well wishes to you and Ted and at 88 still going strong, keep well.

We have some good pictures taken during the restoration, will send when time permits..

regards

16 10 2013
Jeff Marlow

Worked aboard CARIAD I while in Marigot Bay, St. Lucia, W.I., Windward Islands circa 1976/77. Many fond memories. Owned by a syndicate formed my a Mr. Seymour Marvin if memory serves.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,331 other followers

