Keppel Land’s vintage photo competition

16 11 2015

I have been alerted to a photo competition that Keppel Land has been running since 2 November. The competition, calls for old photographs that depict the transformation of Singapore’s landscape covering the period from the 1960s to the 1990s, with a focus on Keppel Land’s developments.

Ocean Building in the 1920s (Source: W. A. Laxton, The Straits Steamship Fleets)..

Ocean Building in the 1920s (Source: W. A. Laxton, The Straits Steamship Fleets)..

The developments identified by Keppel Land include the Ocean Financial Centre, Marina Bay Financial Centre, Keppel Bay, Bugis Junction, the Singapore Management University and and the new National Library and the vicinity of these developments such as Raffles Place, Bugis and the Bras Basah area.

The rise of a new Ocean - the Ocean Financial Centre, the fourth Ocean Building on the site (photograph taken with LG Optimus G).

The rise of a new Ocean – the Ocean Financial Centre, the fourth Ocean Building on the site.

The competition is being held in conjuction with Keppel Land’s SG50 50 Day Trail on Singapore’s Landscape Transformation. The competition runs up to 11 December. More information can be found on the accompanying EDM and also at Keppel Land’s campaign page on Facebook. Submission may be made to http://woobox.com/sfh4v2.

Actions

Information

One response

1 03 2016
Narayanan

To : comment+ri8dshwg9catgev9dpoyq9s@comment.wordpress.com Subject : Re: [New post] Keppel Land’s vintage photo competition 1st March 2016 Dear Mr Jerome Lim, I felt your recent post on ‘The fight for freedom’ would appeal to quite a few in my circle, as it focused on Bras Basah Road, and also carried a few photos of Netaji Bose of the INA. I therefore took the liberty of circulating it with my comments as follows: “When I went through the captioned post, was reminded of this old song, which appears appropriate in the circumstances: “Oh my Darling, Oh my Darling, Oh my Darling Clementine. You are lost and gone forever, Dreadful sorry, Clementine” Ah well, let’s move on, as the phrase goes. We must appreciate the zeal and dedication of this blogger. There will surely be something in this particular post which will interest every recipient. The comment ‘The emptiness that is today Bras Basah Road’ sums it all up. Lostalgic photographs of SJI, RI , CYMA, as well as a few wartime snaps of Netaji Bose. Those who wish to view his earlier posts please type ” into their browser to get access and choose. As for Bras Basah area itself, have vivid memories of the ‘second-hand bookshops’ – can remember at least five which I regularly patronised in my schoodays – and later -. Also the visits to the Japanese dentist Dr K Homma, and his stout (also Japanese) nurse/assistant on the first floor at the corner of Bras Basah Road/Victoria Street, entrance via BBR. Post-war a ‘Washington Bar; came up there …..”. I think these comments would ‘date’ me. The earlier post (below) holds some particular significance to me personally. The ‘Ocean Building in Singapore in 1920s’ in the photograph at least in later years, became two adjacent buildings, separated by a slight crack. The one on the left was called ‘Cecil House’ and owned by a ‘N Reuben & Co’. It was the typical whitewashed yellow colour of those times. Ocean Building to the right was of the granite-grey colour. The cupola on the right of the building was retained. My father’s office in the pre-war days was on the ground-floor left (No 4 Collyer Quay) and in the 1950s, very coincidentally I too worked in a firm which occupied the same 4 & 4-1 Collyer Quay premises. I have in fact a snap of myself standing outside my office. The site is now occupied by Raffles MRT. Please feel free to contact me if you feel I could be of assistance in your insights, which I truly appreciate. Regards & with all good wishes, N Narayanan

Leave a Reply

