Thaipusam at Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple

7 02 2012

Having photographed the procession of Kavadis on the streets over the last two Thaipusam celebrations in Singapore, as well as with Thaipusam falling on a work day this year, I decided to set off early this year to take a look at the preparations of the Kavadi bearers at Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple in Serangoon Road at the break of day. The colourful Hindu festival during which ‘Kavadis‘ or burdens, some which involve piercing of various parts of the body, are borne by devotees, is one which captivated me as a child and one that still contiunes to fascinate me to this day. It can possibly be considered to be the last authentic religious festival that is still enacted on the streets in Singapore – albeit with some restrictions which give it less of an atmosphere than celebrations that take place in our northern neighbour Malaysia.


Actions

Information

4 responses

7 02 2012
Kal Sandhu

As usual you never fail to amaze. Great article and superb photography. I wish I had met up with you on my last trip to Singapore over December and early January 2012. Hope to get you to join me on http://www.pass2me.com so that we can write and share about football in Singapore.

8 02 2012
Noel Hidalgo Tan

Nice pix Jerome. I just posted mine on Facebook and I’ll be preparing a couple of posts on y.sg about it!

9 02 2012
Bing

Great pictures, Jerome! I’m in Singapore but didn’t go shoot the Thaipusam. Somehow it freaks me out and I would be too worried that they got too close and I had to stare at those needles. =p

8 07 2013
Jed Mitter

Excellent stuff,Jerome as usual.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.