Support The Long and Winding Road for the Singapore Blog Awards

23 05 2012

The Singapore Blog Awards is back – for a fifth year with the finalists in each of the fifteen categories announced on Monday. Once again, The Long and Winding Road is in the running in the Best Photography Blog (PANASONIC ECO BEST PHOTOGRAPHY BLOG) Category.

It is a great honour to be selected, having already had the good fortune of being picked as the winner in the same category at last year’s awards – for which I am greatly indebted to the readers of this blog and to the many friends I have made on the journey along the Long and Winding Road who have cast their votes for the blog. Repeating the feat this year will certainly be difficult – as with the last, there are exceptional blogs in the category which are all more than worthy of winning and once more. I would be most grateful for your votes, if you do think the blog is worthy of the accolade, to help in nudging the blog in the right direction – once a day up until the 30th of June. The voting page can be found at the PANASONIC ECO BEST PHOTOGRAPHY BLOG page.

To be able to vote, you would need to first register by clicking on the “REGISTER NOW” text at the top left of the page – you may fill up with any ID number if you do not have an NRIC/FIN Number required to register.

At the same time, I would also like to give a shout-out to some finalists in other categories – some of whom I have become great friends with, whom I think deserve a mention:

  • Fellow Singapore Memory Corp member Lam Chun See, the man behind Good Morning Yesterday (Best Individual Blog). Chun See’s tireless efforts in documenting a Singapore that once was is the benchmark for many nostalgia bloggers – including myself.
  • Self-professed ex-City gal turned expat housewife Karen Lim, whose wonderfully refreshing blog, Story of Bing (Best Lifestyle Blog) takes us on an adventure to South Africa.
  • Wildlife and conservation enthusiast Ivan Kwan, whose morbid fascination with dead animals in the form of updates on Monday Morgue (Best WTH Blog) every Monday certainly has me exclaiming “What The Hell”.
  • Father of four (yes, four!) Andy Lee, who introduces us to his adventures with his kids on Sengkang Babies (Best Family Blog) and is a really nice and down to earth guy.
  • Travel writer Rosemarie John, who takes us on her travels and beyond on Travel and Beyond (Best Travel Blog).

Photography on The Long and Winding Road

I wouldn’t call myself a photographer, but I do use photography as a means to express myself. Photographs to me are a wonderful way to capture that story, an impression or to keep as a record of events, the beauty around us and also the passing of time. Photographs certainly can paint that thousand words, helping a reader to connect with a body of text – a wonderful way to help me keep account of my wanderings along life’s Long and Winding Road. Below are some more recent examples of the stories I try to tell, the impressions and moments in time I try to capture in this blog through the lens. Feel free to browse through them and let me know what you think. 🙂



Actions

Information

3 responses

24 05 2012
Rosemarie John (@TravelnBeyond)

Thank you for the mention Jerome! You take great shots and deserve to win!

24 05 2012
Ivan Kwan

Thanks for the shout-out Jerome! You might not talk a lot about your gear or the technical aspects behind your photography, but you certainly have the art of using photographs to capture brief and fleeting moments in time.

27 05 2012
Andy Lee

Good luck to you Jerome. To me, it is your photo and your story-telling style which captivates your audience.
Thank you for the intro on my blog, and I just came to know that I have been following Ivan’s nature-tweets all along 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.